+91 8999-11-8999 (9 AM - 9 PM)
+91 74-7888-2888 (9 AM - 7 PM)
Famous Official Residences
May 04 2024

Questions about the official residences of various heads of government are very commonly asked in a number of competitive exams. So it is important for students to remember them to gain those extra marks. We have made a list of residences of presidents and heads of government. Read on to know all about these famous residences. 



What is an Official Residence?

An official residence is a house at which the head of state, head of government, or other senior figures officially reside. Often, the residence is a crucial part of a country’s history; a palace or fortress used by Kings or Emperors for centuries. Because these structures are still in use today access can be limited but they are worth visiting even if you can only see the exterior.  


List of Famous Residences

1. Quirinal Palace

The Quirinal Palace is a historic building in Rome, Italy, one of the three current official residences of the President of the Italian Republic.  It is located on Quirinal Hill, the highest of the seven hills of Rome in an area colloquially called Monte Cavallo.  

2. Stockholm Palace

Stockholm Palace or the Royal Palace is the official residence and major royal palace of the Swedish monarch. Stockholm Palace is on Stadsholmen, in Gamla stan in the capital, Stockholm. The offices of the King, the other members of the Swedish Royal Family, and the Royal Court of Sweden are here. The palace is used for representative purposes by the King whilst performing his duties as the head of state.  

3. Presidential Complex

The Presidential Complex is the presidential residence of the Republic of Turkey. The complex is located in the Beştepe neighbourhood of Ankara, inside the Atatürk Forest Farm. The palace was initially constructed to serve as the office of the Prime Minister. After Erdoğan won the August 2014 presidential election, he announced on 2 September 2014 that the building will be used as the new seat of the presidency.  

4. Vaduz Castle

Vaduz Castle is the palace and official residence of the Prince of Liechtenstein. The castle gave its name to the town of Vaduz, the capital of Liechtenstein, which overlooks from an adjacent hilltop. Since 1938, the castle has been the primary residence of Liechtenstein's Princely Family. The castle is not open to the public as the princely family still lives in the castle.  

5. Bellevue Palace

Bellevue Palace, located in Berlin's Tiergarten district, has been the official residence of the President of Germany since 1994. The Schloss is situated on the banks of the Spree river, near the Berlin Victory Column, along the northern edge of the Großer Tiergarten park. Its name – the French for "beautiful view" – derives from its scenic prospect over the Spree's course.  

6. Blue House

Cheongwadae also known as the Blue House informally, is the executive office and official residence of the Republic of Korea's head of state, the President of the Republic of Korea, located in Jongno-gu of the capital Seoul. Cheongwadae is in fact a complex of multiple buildings, built largely in the traditional Korean architectural style with some modern architectural elements and facilities. The Blue House is the most protected official residence in Asia.  

7. Buckingham Palace

Buckingham Palace is the London residence and administrative headquarters of the monarch of the United Kingdom. Located in the City of Westminster, the palace is often at the centre of state occasions and royal hospitality. It has been a focal point for the British people at times of national rejoicing and mourning.  

8. La Fortaleza

La Fortaleza (The Fortress) is the official residence of the Governor of Puerto Rico. It was built between 1533 and 1540 to defend the harbour of San Juan. The structure is also known as Palacio de Santa Catalina translative (Santa Catalina's Palace) in continuous use in the New World. It was listed by UNESCO in 1983 as part of the World Heritage Site "La Fortaleza and San Juan National Historic Site".  

9. Koninklijk Paleis Amsterdam

The Royal Palace of Amsterdam in Amsterdam is one of three palaces in the Netherlands which are at the disposal of the monarch by the Act of Parliament. It is situated on the west side of Dam Square in the centre of Amsterdam, opposite the War Memorial and next to the Nieuwe Kerk. The palace was built as a city hall during the Dutch Golden Age in the 17th century. The building became the royal palace of King Louis Napoleon and later the Dutch Royal House.  


10. Drottningholm Palace

The Drottningholm Palace is the private residence of the Swedish royal family. It is located in Drottningholm. Built on the island of Lovön, it is one of Sweden's Royal Palaces. It was originally built in the late 16th century, and it served as a regular summer residence of the Swedish royal court for most of the 18th century. Apart from being the private residence of the Swedish royal family, the palace is a popular tourist attraction.  

11. Hofburg Imperial Palace

The Hofburg is the former principal imperial palace of the Habsburg dynasty rulers and today serves as the official residence and workplace of the President of Austria. It is located in the centre of Vienna and was built in the 13th century and expanded several times afterwards.  

12. Tokyo Imperial Palace

The Tokyo Imperial Palace is the usual residence of the Emperor of Japan. It is a large park-like area located in the Chiyoda district of the Chiyoda ward of Tokyo and contains several buildings including the main palace, some residences of the Imperial Family, an archive, museums, and administrative offices.  

13. Palacio Real

The Royal Palace of Madrid is the official residence of the Spanish royal family at the city of Madrid, although now used only for state ceremonies. The palace has 135,000 square meters of floor space and contains 3,418 rooms. It is the largest functioning royal palace and the largest by-floor area in Europe.  

14. Alcazar of Seville

The Royal Alcázars of Seville, historically known as al-Qasr al-Muriq and commonly known as the Alcázar of Seville, is a royal palace in Seville, Spain, built for the Christian king Peter of Castile.  

15. Grand Palace

The Grand Palace is a complex of buildings at the heart of Bangkok, Thailand. The palace has been the official residence of the Kings of Siam (and later Thailand) since 1782. The king, his court, and his royal government were based on the grounds of the palace until 1925. Grand Palace is used for official events. Several royal ceremonies and state functions are held within the walls of the palace every year. The palace is one of the most popular tourist attractions in Thailand.  

16. White House

The White House is the official residence and workplace of the president of the United States and his advisers. It is located at 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue NW in Washington, D.C., and has been the residence of every U.S. president since John Adams in 1800. The term "White House" is often used as a metonym for the president and his advisers.  

17. Mosco Shremlin

The Moscow Kremlin is a huge fortified complex that includes four palaces, four cathedrals, and the enclosing Kremlin Wall with Kremlin towers. The Kremlin serves as the official residence of the President of Russia. Although two-thirds of the Kremlin territory is closed to visitors, the remaining third contains enough treasures to occupy several days of sightseeing. 

Related Article:

Top 10 Social Networking Sites by Number of Users

 List of Missiles of India   |   Famous Lines and Frontiers


Anisha Mukhija

Comments are disabled for now




Share Post